Common Clay

As I am in the middle of my second week at Heritage, I finally feel like I know what I’m doing. I know the schedules of classes for the two grades with which I work. I know the names of the students and the surrounding staff. I am very handy with the copy machine, and I have made several diagram displays. Now that I have gotten my routine down, I have more free time during my day. This morning I had forty-five minutes to spare while my fifth graders were in Art class. My lesson plans for the week were done, so I decided I would spend this time reading through Romans. That is when I came across these verses:

“But who are you, O man, to talk back to God? ‘Shall what is formed say to him who formed it, ‘Why did you make me like this?” Does not the potter have the right to make out of the same lump of clay some pottery for noble purposes and some for common use?” Romans 9:20-21.

I started to really think about what those verses were saying. I was so convicted because I know how often I do this. Sometimes it is very hard not to desire the abilities of preaching, singing, speaking, comforting, or creating that someone else may have. When preparing for this trip, many people encouraged me that this would be a life-changing experience because of the miraculous things I would do while I am here. Yes, this journey has already changed my life in that my relationship with Jesus is growing stronger and more intimate with every moment. It has been a very long time since I have felt God speaking to me as often and as clear as I have during my time in Uganda. But I think when many of us think about missions trips like these, we think about the amazing impact we can have on those we are meeting. However, thinking about those verses from Romans I couldn’t help but feel that maybe God is calling some of us for more common roles.

I came to Heritage one month before the end of the school year. As you would expect, the teachers are exhausted and ready for a break. Can you blame them?! After meditating on those verses, I really felt God letting me know that one of my main reasons for being here is to lighten the load of these tired teachers. I am doing whatever I can from making copies, grading work, teaching Bible, covering someone’s lunch duty, to teaching 4th grade for a day (Tuesday I was able to teach Reading, Health and Bible because the teacher was absent). Some may ask “Why did you have to go all the way to Uganda to teach a few classes and make a bunch of photocopies? You could do that in the States!” To those, I would just refer to Romans because I am not about to question my potter.

“Just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function, so in Christ we who are many form one body, and each member belongs to all the others. We have different gifts, according to the grace given us.” Romans 12:4-6

So today, I am going to rejoice for the gifts I have been given and the opportunities God has given me to use those gifts to build up the body of Christ!

One thought on “Common Clay

Leave a Reply

